The Peplum Trend

The peplum trend is still going strong. It’s in every store and every magazine. Everyone you know has a jacket, shirt, skirt or a dress with a peplum.  It takes me back to the late 80’s when I was child standing up in my uncles wedding. I wore a hideous peach colored dress, with a lacey long sleeve top and a huge peplum that ballooned out in the waist. Fortunately for me, I have no proof of this ugly flower girl dress in the form of a photograph. It is just an awful memory that will continue to haunt me.

This trend did not start in the 80’s. It originated in Ancient Greece. Both men and women wore a form of clothing known as a Chiton. Another piece of fabric was draped over the shoulders that would hang past the waist. This was then folded into a pleated look and belted to create an appearance of a skirt, which was known as a Peplos.

 Greek-pelos-1

Today, the extra fabric comes attached to the waistline of shirts, jackets, skirts and dresses. It can be pleated, ruffled or flared.

y

Not everyone should be wearing this trend.

Someone who already has a curvaceous figure will look bulky. It doesn’t accentuate your hips in a flattering way.

 Mexico Kim Kardashian

 

It looks best on someone with small frame, boy shape figure as it can give the look of having an hourglass shape.

tumblr_m57qhiHKwf1rosn7ko1_500

I do enjoy a nice peplum on a jacket but that’s where my love for this trend ends. I am personally over this one and I am tired of seeing it everywhere and on the wrong body types.

How do you feel about the Peplum Trend?

Comments
4 Responses to “The Peplum Trend”
  1. dansledetails says:

    Love the Peplum trend it is form fitting curly, and still flattering!

    http://dansledetails.wordpress.com/

  2. I hope that you don’t mind but I think that people should comment on blog posts. I agree with you about the peplum. Especially women with the wrong figure wearing the peplum. I really like your blog.

  3. Jeri says:

    its so ugly. dear god.

Leave a Reply

